Hamilton and animal crackers bring me joy

Hamilton

“I am inimitable, I am an original”

My neighbors might hate me because I’ve been listening to Hamilton NON-STOP (which is also a track on the cast recording) since Friday. And during most of the day today, I was chatting with Sam about how amazing the music is. He hasn’t even seen the show but is as obsessed with it as I am.

The MacArthur Foundation announced this year’s recipients for its “genius” grants and Lin-Manuel Miranda was on the list. Funnily enough, Rolling Stone published this piece, which made a few references to his “genius” (wink-wink?) today. Seriously, all I want to do is talk about Hamilton and quote lyrics.

FUNNY: “Lock up ya daughters and horses/ Of course it’s hard to have intercourse/ Over four sets of corsets…”

INTROSPECTIVE: “I’m a girl in a world in which/ My only job is to marry rich/ My father has no sons so I’m the one/ Who has to social-climb for one…”

DEEP: “Death doesn’t discriminate between the sinners and the saints…”

Like, Hamilton covers everything! Many emotions! So good!

If you’re as obsessed with reading about Hamilton (the work, obviously, not the figure—ha!), here are a few links:

But probably the best Hamilton-related piece, which isn’t LMM-based, is this Grub Street Diet with Leslie Odom Jr. Not only is he arguably the production’s true lead (“Wait for It” kills me every time), the man subsists on a diet of tacos, burgers, and pizza. LIVING THE DREAM.

Best $3.49 I ever spent

Best $3.49 I ever spent

I refrained from finishing this bag today because it would’ve been ridiculous to eat its contents in less than three days. How are these stale-tasting misnomered snacks so delicious?

Leave a Reply

