Bang-bang in Williamsburg

Mi amigo S and I ventured to WILLIAMSBURG, which will soon be inaccessible, today on a cultural expedition.

The Brooklyn Star, 593 Lorimer St

S really wanted to try its famed cinnamon bun:

20160227_133122.jpg

Honestly, I had zero interest in this because I’m not really into cinnamon, plus I’m haunted by the cloyingly sweet stench of artificial sugar (which has the disadvantage of also looking like MALE EJACULATE) any time I had the misfortune of passing a Cinnabon in my life. However, Better Call Saul has piqued my interest in the dessert so I ate the second half after S couldn’t ingest another bite. Warm and sugary. Not bad.

Mind you, this is after we both each devoured a plate of this:

20160227_131600.jpg

Biscuits with sausage gravy, cheese, and scrambled eggs. I don’t know much about Southern food (this is Southern, right?) but S proclaimed it delicious—thank goodness because I thought so too. I was full about 1/4 of the way into the dish but I wanted my $10 worth. (Yeah, it was weird to have gravy-covered scrambled eggs but, you know, CULTURE.)

The Meat Hook, 495 Lorimer St

We were going to walk around the neighborhood to digest before second lunch but it was really cold, okay? Plus this place was four blocks away. S really wanted to try the HOT CHICKEN, a Nashville specialty:

20160227_140938.jpg

I thought it was pretty good and ate most of my half (yep, we were being dainty), sans some of the bread, but S deemed it not hot (like spicy) enough.

Oh, and we were sharing a table with this late-20s/early-30s couple who perfectly exemplified why dating in NYC for straight women is awful. SHE seemed really sweet and was perfectly coiffed (with a braided-looking part in her hair; HOW DID SHE DO THAT?) with minimal makeup that highlighted her features, wearing a fitted sweater and a simple silver necklace. HE was wearing a black fleece over a T-shirt with some sports-team logo with a baseball cap. Basically he looked and sounded like every undergraduate male at my dining hall (though he exclaimed excitedly at our hot-chicken selection, and S pointed out that this guy’s enthusiasm for sandwiches could maybe be enough to sustain a relationship).

Anyway, it totally reminded me of this amazing cartoon:

Screen Shot 2016-02-27 at 8.35.56 PM.png

Vomit.

Links I liked this week: 

  • Campaign to #sharetheload (This is so timely since I’m obsessed with EMOTIONAL LABOR.)
Leave a Reply

