Testing, hello?

For the past 15 years or so, I’ve been aware of a woman who shares my name. She attended the University of Virginia around the time that I was in college and married a guy named Albert a few years ago. Occasionally, I’ll get email that was meant for her. For the past week, I’ve been receiving emails from the Shangri-La Hotel in Yangon (not Rangoon, interesting) asking me to rate my recent stay.

Whenever I get a reminder that Anny is out there doing something more fun than me (although what’s more fun than eating burgers?), I just remind myself that I secured firstname.lastname from Gmail way before my nemesis could. Blessing (AND A CURSE).

Earlier today, I finished Tears We Cannot Stop: A Sermon to White America by Michael Eric Dyson. Good stuff, even though his editors didn’t catch the correct spelling of Nikole Hannah-Jones’ name. I am currently reading The Sound of Music Family Scrapbook. (RIP, Charmian Carr.)

Happy 2017.

3 thoughts on “Testing, hello?

  1. millie schmidt says:

    Interesting, I keep getting emails for someone else as well, it’s been sooooo frustrating ridding my inbox of their signups. I’m thinking they’re a ‘schmid’ and I’m a ‘schmidt’. Funny thing is I think they live on the other side of the country, as I got an email the other day for Perth, Western Australia asking me questions about the female Netball team I had just signed up for in person! I told them that it wasn’t me and that I actually lived in NSW, they told me that my email had been put down on a sign sheet at a tryout – I hope they got in contact with the correct girl eventually.
    Funnily enough I also got an email closer to home for this Motorbike group and to this day I still get their newsletter (I did ask them to take me off), it has to be two separate people or this girl moves around the country a lot. Oh and the other year I got a quote I had never asked for from Flight Centre for some interesting travel plans! As you said, at least one version of ourselves has an interesting life haha

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

